Bring Africa to you!

Image

As most people know, I have always wanted to go and experience life in different countries around Africa since i was a small kid. Unfortunately it is not that easy 😦 First of all because i was too young and had to finish school etc Then when i grew up i wanted to finish studying and work to save money. AGAIN unfortunately it was not as simple as that. When i started working it became impossible to save money. After paying bills and daily living expenses i had almost no money left to save. So yeah, Its been a long wait for me to live my dream. So now i have been fortunate enough to travel to Africa every year!

The reason for this post is to show people that just because you are not in the country you would like to be in, doesn’t mean you cant bring the country to you 😉 For the past 10 years or so, I have been living in a way that is more African than Scottish lol It’s very sad for me to not be able to hope on a flight and visit my favorite countries around Africa any time i want. So, until the time of my yearly trip, i continue living in a way that i would if i am in any country in Africa…only that i am in Scotland!

I would like my friends to read this and gain something from it as a lot of my friends feel sad and miss home. So let me just give u some tips on how to feel at home even if you are not at home 🙂

First of all i would say, don’t change your diet just because you are not in Your country. Of course there will be days you eat some pasta or some local food of the country you are in but continue eating your Favorite Ghanaian or Nigerian food too! I eat Nigerian/Kenyan/Ghanaian food every week and it really makes me feel like i am enjoying a part of Africa 🙂 Some of my awesome cooking skills below :p

Image

Secondly, I always play music everyday anywhere i go i have my headphones in blasting my favorite Ghanaian and Nigerian songs! It is also a way of feeling connected to those countries in particular.

Third, Don’t change your dress code to “fit in” with the country you are in. Their is nothing more pleasant for me than seeing  people in the UK with their traditional wear. Beautiful! I love to also wear and buy many clothes from different countries in Africa and head wraps. It makes me feel like i am showing my personality on the outside!

Also i would say, don’t forget you mother tongue when you are out of your home country. Yes, of course u need to speak English to the public who don’t understand your own language , but other than that, always use you native language. I also like to Learn languages so i can communicate and join in conversations with my friends who have came from countries in Africa.

Another thing to make you feel connected to Africa is to always get regular updates on news and what is happening in your country in Africa. I LOVE to read and learn new things about all countries around Africa and i always have. This makes me feel very connected and know so much about African countries as if i have been living there my whole life!

If you haven’t REALLY studied and learned about a country then you wont feel connected to it even if you have been there. I am very sure i know more about many countries in Africa than some people who have lived in or been to many countries in Africa lol This is because i do all i can to stay connected and learn all i want to know about Africa. I even wanted to studying a course called “African Studies” at College but instead, I just spent my whole life reading and teaching myself. Saved my self the Huge University fee too haha!

Anyways i hope you enjoyed reading and i hope you have taken something from what i said. Please don’t loose your connection to Africa no matter where u go.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Africa wa ni okan mi ❤

Image

4 thoughts on “Bring Africa to you!

  1. That’s really true and educative..I don’t think I will stop eating my favorite african meals when I travel out.. No way! ℓσℓ ..

Leave a Reply

